I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-06-20 - 9:52 p.m.�
Wherin I rant about Scooby Doo

My co-worker/supervisor (who also got hired on permanently this week) and I decided to go out for lunch today.

We left early, we each had a big beer, and we got back to work 15 minutes late. We were giddy, laughing about how we could be rotten employees now that we were permanent, and how if anyone questioned us on our extra long lunch we'd say we deserved a celebration in honor of our new job status.

No one questioned our behaviour. No one even noticed. It was slightly disappointing.

Last night I went to see the Scooby Doo movie. Not my first choice of movie, believe you me, but when I'm invited out to a movie, I will likely go just for something to do.

So, yeah, Scooby Doo. Well I can say, with no hint of a lie, that I really enjoyed my popcorn. Dear lord, that was a lame movie. The set designs weren't bad-- sort of a faux Burton feel to them, and they did suceed in conveying a nice cartoonishly scary mood. And Matthew Lillard was a convincing Shaggy.

Everything else was ass. The casting (with the exception of Shaggy) was horrendous. Especially Velma. Velma in the cartoons was totally dorky, and also a tad on the chnky side. Velma in the movie was totally just "Show Biz Dorky." Lame.

Of course, even if the casting was spot on perfect, it wouldn't have made up for the lamest script in the land! Sure, I laughed a couple of times, but only in a derisive mocking kind of way. The characterization was so very wrong-- Daphne was never that stupid. And she was never shallow! Where the hell did that come from? And Shaggy in love? Please! The only thing Shaggy was ever in love with was food. And possibly his old pal Scooby... but then that could just be me adding my own subtext.

And the plot! Oh, the plot. So contrived, so boring! And don't even get me started on the surprise twist villan! I won't reveal it here, so as not to ruin the movie for any other misguided souls who happen to see it. As if I alone could possibly ruin that movie. There were plenty of other forces that ruined that movie.

Money grubbing Hollywood sons of bitches.

Ahem. Well, I suppose I've ranted enough for now. I should probably call it a night.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Chuck Berry, "Chess Recordings disc 2"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present