I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-06-11 - 6:29 p.m.�
Back to Work. Sigh.

I made it through the work day today, despite my total gimpiness. Well, I made it through most of the day, at least. My supervisor left an hour early, and she drove me home then because I was tired.

Work was annoying today. Everyone was very nice, if not a little too nice. I tend not to want to be the centre of attention, but there is nothing like an injury to suddenly make a person very interesting.

I was considering writing down the explanation to my injury on a piece of paper and pinning it to my chest so that I wouldn't have to say it again. Everyone wanted to be regaled with the story of my unfortunate exploits.

And nearly everyone had to make some sort of joke before they asked what actually happened. For example: "That'll teach you to keep from kicking people around, Heather." Ha Ha. I swear, if another person says that to me, I will break my good foot off in their ass.

Well no, not really. I need to have one good foot. Maybe I'll just compile their names onto a big list, and once I recover, there will be some asses to be kicked. Oh yes, mark my words.

So, as if pain, hobbling and attention wasn't enough to make my day super fun, there was also the matter of the new computer systems. We got our database upgraded from a 12 year old DOS based program to a brand spankin' new Windows program. Let me just say, there are still some bugs to be worked out. There are a lot of bugs.

And even without the bugs, getting used to the new system is a challenge in and of itself. Everything from the old version of the database is still there, but it isn't all in the same place as it was before. And the interface is completely different. It took me a half hour to do something that should have taken me 5 minutes, for no other reason than I was having so much trouble figuring out how to navigate the system. And everyone was coming to me for help when they couldn't figure things out, because I was the expert on the old database.

Grrr.

How many days does this freakin' week have left?

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: sounds of rain and thunder

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present