I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-11-24 - 12:37 a.m.�
I guess now my only hope for riches is the lottery.

Today I went to a lecture on novel writing at the public library. The speaker was a local woman who has just recently published a book for young adults. She was a good speaker, and the lecture was very interesting, but I came out of it feeling more than a little depressed.

Why, pray tell, did Heather feel this way? Well, it was a little tidbit of info that she decided to share during the question and answer period. The question of payment inevitably came up, and the author very graciously shared with us the actual dollar amount paid to her for the rights to publish her book, and royalties for sale of the book: $500.00.

And that $500.00 was actually just an advance on book sale profit. If they don't sell 1000 couples of her book, she'll owe the publishers money. She earns just 50 cents per copy.

That's just sad.

However, that is apparently par for the course to be a writer in Canada. Unless your name happens to be Margaret Atwood or Michael Ondaatje, you can't make a living being an fiction author in this country. So there goes "Plan B". I suppose even if I do write the great Canadian novel, I'll still have to deal with insane voicemail and poorly spelled emails from men getting paid twice my salary.

Oh, also, note to self:

Stay out of the mall until after Christmas. It's madness, madness I say! If I had stayed there much longer I probably would have been hauled out for committing acts of unspeakle violence upon many of my fellow shoppers. I'd forgotten how quickly my homicidal tendencies flare up during Christmas shopping. Season of peace and goodwill towards men, my ass!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Motown

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present