I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-02-28 - 9:54pm�
Bad day

I am really, really tired.

Today was not a good day. For the first time since I started this job again, I felt stressed out at work all day today. In the morning I had to call the police to go out to the home of one of our elderly clients, to check and see if she was okay. No one could get in touch with her for close to 24 hours, so of course, by the time it was called in to me, everyone was very concerned. It turned out that she was fine, she just hadn't realized that her phone had been off the hook. But for a very long hour today all I could picture was a little old lady sprawled out dead on the floor beside her phone. I thought I was going to throw up.

The rest of my work day was less traumatic, just very stressful. The phone wouldn't stop ringing and not one of the calls was a quick, simple one. I couldn't even get away long enough to go to the bathroom all afternoon, and I didn't get to leave work on time.

When I got home I found that my mother was back at the hospital with asthma trouble. It's been going on for over a week now. She's never had breathing trouble this bad before. Around eight tonight she called us and said that they were going to admit her overnight, because none of the medicine they've been giving her has been doing much to open her airways. My brother and I just got back from the hospital. We took her some clothing and shampoo, and just kept her company until they moved her from the ER into a room. I feel bad that we couldn't stay longer, but visiting hours were long over everywhere in the hospital (except in the ER, where it's always visiting hours).

I'm not too worried about her. I mean, I know that she is going to be okay. It's asthma, which can be serious, but there is little chance that it's going to kill her, especially when she is in the hospital. I'm glad that she is in the hospital rather than here, because there they can just keep giving her ventolin masks all night. But I don't want my mommy to be sick. I want her to be here, and okay.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present