I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-02-02 - 9:55 pm�
Job related rambings (again)

I had the perfect "out" today. I had the perfect out and I didn't take advantage of it. Damn that work ethic of mine.

Here's the story. My temp agency got their facts mixed up, and thought that today was the last day that I was available for my current, awful temp job. They called job supervisor to confirm this. She freaked, and thought that she'd got her days mixed up, and that I'd told her that I couldn't work past today (as opposed to next Friday). She was prepared to let me go today without arguement, if I said that I wasn't available next week. Basically it all came down to me. I could have lied, and said that I thought today was to be my last day there. I could have said that I'm not available to work there next week.

I didn't though. I told them, yeah, I could work for them until next Friday. I guess this stupid job isn't as unbearable as I thought it was.

I think I am used to the job now. The job itself, while being about as exciting as The Weather Channel, isn't all that bad. As I've mentioned before, it's the people at the office who really make the job bad.

But I think I'm even starting to get used to them. I'm no longer shocked and appalled by the things that come out of their mouths in the breakroom. They are no less offensive and ignorant than they were when I started, but it's all old hat to me now.

And I've developed a nice little persona of "quiet girl with a book" that generally seems to excuse me from conversation. I eat my food with them, then I move onto one of the couches and bury myself in a book. No one seems to care, and it keeps me a lot more sane than talking to them does.

All the same, I am really glad that I'm heading off to a job I like on the 12th.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present