I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-25 - 8:59pm�
Current Playlist

You know how sometimes you hear a song, a familiar song, one you've known for years, but all of a sudden something about it speaks to you for the first time?

And in her eyes you see nothing
No sign of love behind the tears
Cried for no one
A love that should have lasted years ---The Beatles, "For No One"

I've been obsessed with this song lately. I don't know why I never really paid much attention to it before, but in its way it's every bit as tragic as "Eleanor Rigby", and the background instrumentation is at least as complex. I was listening to Revolver again last week and damn it all, this song gave me chills.

I become obsessed with songs every now and again. Okay, not true, I am almost constantly obsessed with one song or another. There was the "my-day-is-not-complete-unless-I-listen-to-"Blackbird"" phase, and of course, the long running "my-world-will-crumble-down-around-me-if-I-don't-hear-"Angel"-at-least-once-today " phase. And how can I forget the three separate "I'll-burst-into-tears-unless-I-hear-"The Drinking Song" again" phases?

Right now, I have several songs at once that I am obsessed with. I have an obsession playlist, that I'm sure is tormenting my family. Or not. My mom was singing along quite happily yesterday to a song I'm sure she doesn't even know the title of.

So other than, "For No One" my current playlist consists of the following:

"Blue Flashing Lights" ---Travis (this song always gives me chills)
"Cordelia" ---The Tragically Hip
"Everytime" ---Sarah Harmer (reference to smoggy Steeltown... always makes me homesick, in a warm and fuzzy way)
"No Love Today" ---Chris Smither
"Brian Wilson" ---Barenaked Ladies ("somebody help me, I couldn't see the ground, somebody help me...")
"Everything's Not Lost" ---Coldplay
"Love set Fire" -- Moxy Fruvous
"Good Enough" (KCRW Radio Acoustic version) ---Sarah McLachlan (because no playlist of mine is complete without somethingby Sarah McLachlan)

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present