I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-06 - 7:13am�
The Tragically Hip entry

What the hell was wrong with Diaryland last night? Or was the problem only on my end? I still can't seem to log into my sitemeter page. Anyway, I wrote this last night but I couldn't post it, so I'm posting it now.

Well despite this mornings whiny ramblings I actually had a pretty good day today. It was busy, but that means that it went fast. Fast is good. And yay! This is a short week. Only 3 more days to go until the weekend. :)

I'm going to see The Tragically Hip twice in December! At least, that's the plan. I'm planning to see them in Toronto on December 3rd, and also in Hamilton on Dec 21st. I'm going to the Hamilton show with my brother and my mom. Mom is really looking forward to it. She's wanted to go to a Hip concert for years. I think she has a crush on Gord Downie which I find both cute and disturbing. Anyway, we are going to be one of those dorky families that I make fun of at concerts. You know, the ones that make going to a concert into a family event. They're usually yuppie-ish. At least we aren't in the least bit yuppie-ish. That should help lower our dorkiness factor.

I'm really looking forward to going back to Hamilton for a day or two too. I haven't been back there since the... unpleasantness last year. There are so many things I want to do there, like go check out how my stuff looks in the craft store's new location, eat Tally Ho, home best Roast Beef sandwiches ever, ooo, and eat at Ghazi's, home of the garlic soaked Shistawouk sandwiches. And I want to take the bus out to the baddest part of town, find the seedy motel where he's spending his days now and beat the shit out of my father. Probably won't do that last thing though. Not that it isn't tempting...

But I don't want my mini vacation and Tragically Hip experience to be marred by that man in any way. He already did that to me once. Two Februarys ago, back when it all started to go hell. It was the middle of reading week. I came back from Barrie to Hamilton early, in time for The Hip concert. My brother and I arrive and the bus station and he is nowhere to be seen. We call home and he is not there. We get home and he is still nowhere to be seen, but he has left his mark with a toppled over bookshelf and an empty bottle in the sink. We go to the concert, furious, but trying just to concentrate on having fun, enjoying ourselves. It works, for a while, at least while the music is playing. On the bus ride back home after the concert we plan his funeral. Our plans are all for nothing, because he is most certainly not dead, but instead has landed his sorry ass in an alcohol detox centre instead.

Yeah, thanks Daddy.

So that's the real reason why I'm not going to go and confront him when I make it back to Hamilton for the concert. Not because he doesn't deserve for me to lay into him for all the shit he's done and is still doing. And not because I am prepared to be the bigger person, and leave him alone because he's just a weak shell of a human being now. No, I'm leaving him alone because I don't want him to wreck things this time. He doesn't have the power anymore and I don't want to give him the power.

Well I really didn't mean for this to be a downer of an entry. It didn't start out that way. Heh heh-- that's pretty much the story of my life.�

"It takes all your power, to prove that you don't care. I'm not Cordelia, I will not be there."-- The Tragically Hip, "Cordelia"

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present