I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-18 - 10:13pm�
Diary entry of the day

Quote of the Day:

"Well, that totally adds to my 'old people are crazy' theorem."

--Xander, "Where the Wild Things Are" Buffy the Vampire Slayer

And mean. Old people are also mean.

Okay, not all of them. Most of the ones I talked to today were crazy and/or mean though. It's a good thing that I am only dealing with the eldery over the phone. I can pretty much control myself and manage to be patient for the length of a phone call, but that's about it. I now look upon people who work with the eldery with a whole new respect. I certainly couldn't ever do it.

Song Lyrics of the Day:

"I can't close my eyes. I'm seeing a tunnel at the end of all these lights."

--Travis "Why Does it Always Rain on Me?"

I'm having one of those days, where I feel like I'm in a big rut, and I'm not getting anywhere. And I don't really mean that on a grand, depressing scale of "why isn't my life going anywhere?" No, it's more immediate than that. It's a "when am I going to get some more time for myself" feeling.

I am really glad that today is Friday so that I get a break from the routine for a couple of days. But... a couple of days doesn't seem like long enough when I know that after Sunday I have to go in and do it all again for another five days.

I'm hoping that this is just first week back to work syndrome... taking that week and a half off was really nice, but it's made it hard to get into this job. Despite my whining about the mean old people, I do like this job. But I don't like it as much as I like sleeping in, and watching Magnum PI at 11 am, and covering things with Fimo, and getting to wear my comfy clothes...

Unpleasant Feeling of the Day:

Today I went for a walk on my lunch hour. I thought I was looking good. I felt like I was looking good. I had a whole picture of myself conjured up in my mind: calm, collected, graceful, stylish, perhaps even a little glamourous.

Then I happened to catch a glimpse of my reflection. What a crushing blow. I had to do a double take before it sunk in that yes, I was in fact looking at myself. The short chubby legs, the hair sticking out strangly on one side, the skirt hiked up slightly higher on one side than the other...

I hate those moments of realization.

Amusing Website of the Day:

Brunching Shuttlecocks: Rules For My Apartment Complex

These could be the rules for my apartment complex... except for the one about the pool. My building isn't good enough to have a pool, unless I count the times when the storm drain behind the builing backs up and the parking lot floods. (In case you're wondering, I don't count those times.)

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present