I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-10-02 - 8:21 p.m.�
"Unfair" doesn't quite cut it.

I really didn't want to get up this morning. I hit my snooze button not once, not twice, but thrice. The universe was telling me that today would have been a good day to stay in bed. I kinda wish I had listened.

Although, honestly, all that staying in bed would have accomplished would have been to postpone all the terrible stuff I had to deal with at work today.

Bad news upon bad news. 2 of my regular clients have passed away. And then we got a rather startling report of suspected elder abuse on another one of our regular clients. This was followed by another rather startling revelation that due to circumstances of the situation (which I cannot get into for confidentiality's sake), we are pretty much powerless to do anything outside of note the complaint to our supervisor.

This was all before 10 am this morning. Which, in retrospect was probably good, because after the bad news that followed, I don't think I could have handled anything more.

Shortly before lunchtime we got the news that the coworker who has been on sick leave with cancer is currently in hospital, dying. I've known it's been coming. She's been fighting for years, longer than I've known her. I got my foot in the door at my workplace filling in for her while she was getting chemo. That was back in August 2000. That was her second bout of cancer, and it appeared that she had beaten it again by the new year.

Sadly, she was ill again by the fall of 01, and was too sick to work anymore by Christmas. Right now it seems pretty damned unlikely that she will make it to another Christmas.

I don't have any words for how unfair this is. To say that this is "not fair" for her, her family, her friends, and everyone who knows her is such a cliched understatment that it is damned near insulting. There are no words. There is only anger, frustration and tears.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: The Tragically Hip

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present