I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-10-08 - 4:38 p.m.�
Thanksgiving Day 2001

I wish every weekend could be a long weekend.

Really now, is that too much to ask?

This has been a really odd Thanksgiving weekend for me. The pumpkin pie mom made for me has been the only real Thanksgiving-y thing about the whole weekend.

That's not to say I've had a bad weekend. It's been a lovely weekend, news of air strikes aside. I've never been big on Thanksgiving anyway. I'm not a fan of turkey. And Thanksgiving itself has a lot of crappy emotional baggage to go along with it.

Crazy family dinners with the crazy extended family. Thanksgiving was always worse than Christmas. At least at Christmas there were always tasty goodies around. And presents. And my grandfather piping Christmas Carols throughout the house. And everyone just seemed to be in better spirits at Christmas. Getting together at Thanksgiving was just a big stressful hassle. Mom in the bathroom throwing up from the stress, even before we left the house. My brother's nervous whistling as he was biting his fingernails down to bloody nubs. The migraines I could feel starting to pound as I got dressed and ready, letting me know that I'd be ready to barf by the time dessert was served. Yep, good times. Good times.

Even when we stopped going to the dysfunctional family hoedowns Thanksgiving was always a let down. The leftovers were always better than the big spread. And most of the conversation about what we were thankful for revolved around the fact that we were thankful not to be spending Thanksgiving at my grandmother's.

So this quiet, anti-Thanksgiving has been good. I got the pumpkin pie and the day off work-- the two things about the holiday that I do look forward to. And I got to watch movies, and drink peach shnapps, and experiment with cooking, and sleep late, and lounge around in my pajamas.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present