I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-05-26 - 6:08 p.m.�
All this and cotton candy too.

I had an unexpectedly good day today. I had to put in a few hours for my job today at a community festival. I was really, really not looking forward to it. Anything celebrating my community is usually fairly pathetic and dull. And I not just saying that because I really don't like this city, and don't find it to be something worth celebrating.

But getting back on topic, it was actually a pretty cool event. There were booths set up representing most of the community groups and resources. My brother and I took a shift manning my office's booth. It mainly consisted of us applying temporary tattoos to kids, handing out buttons and candy, and trying to keep all our pamphlets and literature from blowing away. I managed to do a little bit of promotion of our volunteer programs, and I think I may have even recruited a couple of new meal delivery volunteers, but mostly people who came over to the booth just wanted us to give them some free stuff.

After we finished the shift we had a look around the rest of the festival. There were some fun things to do, mostly for kids, but some were entertaining for everyone. Like the baby Siberian Tiger. My brother and I were most intrigued by the tiger. It was adorable. We ended up staying at the festival much longer than we had anticipated so that we could ooo and ahh over the tiger and watch the wild animal show. The brother even got to do the whole audience participation thing and had a boa constrictor draped across his neck and shoulders. I wish I would have had a camera. He was just beaming from ear to ear. I don't think I've ever seen him that happy in a crowd, especially as the centre of attention in a crowd.

So 'twas a good day. Spent the day out in the sun, scored some brownie points with the boss, practiced my professional smoozing, possibly bagged me some new volunteers, saw a tiger, watched my brother hold a snake, got home long before the rain hit.

And I got to eat cotton candy.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present