I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-01-31 - 7:42 pm�
Sometimes I miss University tutorials.

I called in sick today. I probably could have gone in, but I really didn't feel like going. Yesterday afternoon I had a really bad headache. A cold sweat, puke from the pain kind of headache. And then I didn't sleep much last night, so when I woke up this morning I felt like total crap. Like I said, I probably could have made it through the day at work, but I probably would have ended up with another headache.

So I stayed home and read instead. I finished reading The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood. It took me forever to get through that book, but I did it!. The book is huge-- nearly 700 pages (hey, that's alot to me. Even freakin' Moby Dick was only around 500 pages, and that was a long bloody book, okay?). I tend to read slowly, pour over the words on the page... it's a method I picked up in University-- if you want to get a good understanding for a novel, you read it through 2 or 3 times, or you read it through once, slowly and carefully.

Where was my point? Oh yes, The Robber Bride is a long book, and it took me a while to read, but it is a good book, and it was worth my time.

It's times like these, when I finish a really good book, that I miss being a student. There are so many things in this book that I want to talk about! I want to discuss the war theme, the use of fairy tale devices. I want to discuss all the changing of names/identities. I want to talk about the gender roles-- why were all the men presented as weak? And why exactly did Zenia target the women she did? Why did she choose them? What did she really want from them?

Anyone out there want to discuss these things with me? Anyone? Anyone? (Hey, Marla, have you read it?)

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present