I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-02-27 - 10:08 p.m.�
Pessimistic musings about job hunting

I applied for yet another new job today. This one is another clerk position, but it pays $4.00 more an hour than my current clerk position does. Plus it's at a place where there would be room for advancement.

I still hate applying for jobs. I hate trying to sell myself, make myself stand out among the 100s of other applicants with the same skills and experience that I have.

When I was unemployed (back when I first started this diary in June 2000) I must have sent out close 150 resumes. I got five interviews, and just the one job offer. And I maybe only heard back from 2 or 3 other places I applied to. Job searching is just so disheartening. The whole situation made me feel like the world was trying to tell me I was a big loser who nobody wanted.

Even now that I'm doing it while employed at a job where I know I'm wanted, the rejection (or even just the thought of it) is depressing. Except instead of feeling like a big unwanted loser, I just feel trapped.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Muppets

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present