I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-02-14 - 7:18 p.m.�
Valentine's Day memory

I remembered something today. When I woke up this morning, still a little groggy from the flu, and realized it was Valentine's Day, I it hit me that my grandmother died 10 years ago today.

I don't think about that grandmother very often. Though up until my parent's divorce, I did see her every few months, I never really felt like I got to know her. She was always very old, even for a grandmother. She and my grandfather would always have to lie down for a nap when they'd come to visit us, and my brother and I were constantly warned to play quietly. She always thought my mother dressed me far too extravagantly, and never understood why my brother and I had so many pairs of running shoes, but had no use for sensible shoes to wear to church. I remember once, when I was about 13, she looked at me and lamented that none of her granddaughters had inherited her hourglass figure.

But I also remember that she always had freshly baked cookies for us when we'd stay at my grandparent's house. And that she would always make sure to ask my mother what we wanted for Christmas, so that she'd know that we liked her gifts. And that she and my grandfather were in love until the day she died.

I remember that she made me a quilt when I was a baby, and another to put in my "hope chest." I don't think I have those quilts anymore, thanks to the great eviction of '99. I wish I did.

I wish I'd gotten to know her better, but when she was trying to get to know me, I wasn't particularly interested. I was a young teenager, and she was an old lady who didn't understand me. She wanted to be there for me through my parent's divorce, but I felt awkward talking with her. She was a stranger. Part of that was my own fault, I guess, although that's easier to see in retrospect, from a grown-up point of view.

Not sure quite where to go with that, but anyway, that's my Valentine's memory.

In other news, I am feeling much better today. Still not 100%, but maybe about 65%. Thanks to everyone who sent me get well cheer. And Marla, I hope you feel better soon too, sweetie! I will be going back to work tomorrow. I fear for what lovely voicemail awaits me.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present