I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-06-17 - 11:12 a.m.�
Reponse to Craig

In response to something written in my guestbook...

Craig, I cannot disagree with you more. I stand by my point 100%. I know Mainframe's work. They do good work. Very good work. But there is no way that they or anybody could recreate Betty Boop cartoons using computer animation. Think about the *look* of computer animation vs. the *look* of Betty Boop cartoons. Then tell me that Mainframe can do that. Watch the cartoons and tell me that Mainframe can make everything move like that. No one can do that using the computer animation technology, and why the hell should they even try? Why should they be looking back at recreating something that has already been done? Shouldn't they be looking forward? Doing something new? As you yourself said in your guestbook post, "What was, was." Exactly. So why should they be trying to do what was? Respect what was, don't say, "yeah, that old stuff was good, but look what we can do with it!"

And just to clarify, I'm not trying to say that Mainframe is not as good as the Fleischers, I'm trying to say THAT THEY ARE DIFFERENT. Surely you can agree with that. Their style is different, their technology is different (obviously).

This is not a slam against your precious Mainframe. I would be just as appalled with any animation studio trying to redo Betty Boop. There is plenty of precedent as to why I cannot for a minute believe that this will work. If you look back in animation history, there are many cases where another animation studio tries to recreate a character or a look from another studio and fails miserably. Oswald the Rabbit. Bosko. Popeye the Sailor. Any and all updated television versions of tv characters (as I mentioned in the previous entry: Felix the Cat, Little Lulu, Woody Woodpecker). For that matter, look at a different set of animators and writers and directors and voice talentsfrom the same company trying to recreate Looney Tunes 40 years after the original series ended: Space Jam was hardly a masterpiece.

So that's characters, now let's talk about studios attempting to recreate the look of another company's cartoons. Do you know what killed The Fleischer Studio in the first place? Trying to look recreate Disney. Instead of concentrating on what they did well, they tried to copy someone else's look, and they couldn't pull it off. Why not? It wasn't because they made inferior cartoons, or that they weren't as talented as Disney.

Cartoons are not made by one person. They are made by a group. A collective. There are so many people involved in the process, and everything brings something to the finished work. This is, in my opinion, what makes it impossible to recreate cartoons done by others. There are so many tiny little elements that go into a cartoon to make it special, and to make it work.

You make a very serious mistake when you say "He was a genuis..." Who is he? Are you referring to Max Fleisher or Dave Fleischer? Both were integral to the cartoons and what made them special. I can't imagine the cartoons without Max's technology, or without Dave's direction. Or the many animators who drew the cartoons. Or Mae Questal! She was a genius too, and very important to the end product.

Okay, I think I'm done ranting now. And Craig, for future reference, I don't think my guestbook is the best place for starting arguements with me. If you look at the other entries, it is pretty obvious that it is used primarily for short comments that don't require a response. It isn't a message board. I don't respond there. If you want to have a discussion with me, you know my e-mail address and you know where to find me on ICQ. I'm open to discussion with you, but I would rather my diary not be the forum. Because it is ny diary. I want to choice my topics for each entry. I don't like feeling forced to discuss something here. I wanted to write about something completely different today, but I felt if I didn't respond to your post, it would look like I was ignoring you, or that I could not respond.

No one ever has to agree with anything I post here, and I be pleased to argue or discuss anything that anyone who reads this don't agree with or doesn't get. But I will not do it here again.

If my other readers have managed to trudge through this, I'd just like to say that there will likely be another post later today regarding the music festival I attended last night, and will be going back to this afternoon. Check back this eveining if you want.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present