I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-01-13 - 4:16 p.m.�
Death of an old man

I've been meaning to update all week, really I have. Things have been going on, things I've wanted to record and share, but I haven't been able to make a coherent entry out of any of them, so I sort of gave up. I'm feeling a bit more coherent at the moment, so I've decided to write about the first, and probably biggest event of the past week.

The week started out with a bang on Monday. One of my volunteers showed up, a big, ex-cop guy, with tears in his eyes. It seems that when he went to pick up one of our clients that morning, he found the man dead in his bed. He didn't actually find him, the superintendent of the man's building did, but he was still understandable upset. Especially considering that the man was one of his favorite clients, and he felt quite close to him.

This has been an odd one for me. In the past when my clients have died, I've felt something immediately. My reaction to the passing of this client was little more than, "Huh." I haven't been able to move past that initial indifference, but the client has been on my mind all week.

The thing is, I didn't like this client. He was one of my regulars, and whenever he would call in, I cringed. Literally. The man was nasty, and deaf, so he would be forever screaming into the phone. He was demanding, rude, and generally unpleasant over the phone. Most of the volunteers, and all of the office staff, couldn't stand him.

Still, I didn't wish the guy dead.

I don't feel bad about his death though. He was in his nineties, and he died in his sleep, in his own apartment, in his own bed. And as much as he annoyed the crap out of me, I know that he did not die friendless and lonely. He was close with his son and granddaughters. And two of my volunteers absolutely adored him, and would visit with him for hours after they'd finished their actual volunteer commitment with him.

And I think I can honestly say that I don't feel bad about the fact that I didn't like him. It didn't influence the way I provided him with service. And he really was a miserable man, at least in the contact I had with him.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present