I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-08-14 - 9:24 p.m.�
The grim spector of death strikes again... and again.

Two more of my clients died over the weekend. That's three in about a week. Even though the majority of my clients are either old or very sick (or both), it's still a shock to me when they pass away.

The death of one of the clients this weekend came to a shock to everyone though. She was young, only 32, and though her medical condition was quite obviously serious, I don't think anyone anticipated losing her. She received drives from us three days a week to kidney dialysis treatment. She was one of the few transportation clients that I've got to meet in person. She came into the office a few times to visit. She was shy, smiled easily, and seemed much younger than she actually was. She never seemed close to death.

My job is really hard sometimes. The work itself isn't particularly challenging, but the job is just hard to take sometimes. I can see why so many of people who have worked in this office only stuck around for a few years. The woman who trained me in this job the first time around, back when I was just temp agency girl, told me that it is hard to hold on to the right balance of caring and hard skin. You can't let yourself care too much or you'll burn out fast. But if you let yourself stop caring altogether, you shouldn't be doing that kind of work.

Most days I think I have the right balance, or something pretty close to it. Death throws everything off kilter. I'm okay though, nobody has to get too worried about me over this one.

Do you people all know how deeply I am looking forward to my vacation? A whole week off with nothing to do except hang out with friends, lounge on the couch, play with my computer, pet my cat... heaven.

******

On a completely unrelated note, can netscapers see me yet? I found one strange thing in my code, and I'm wondering if that was the problem. Not having Netscape here myself, I don't know if I've fixed the problem. I'm going to have my brother take a look at my html and see if he can figure out what's going down. He knows somewhat more on the subject than I do.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present