I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-07-10 - 10:28 p.m.�
Bad volunteers, network troubles, and ants. Oh My!

If there was ever a Wednesday when I really, really wanted win the Lotto 649 jackpot so that I wouldn't have to go back to work anymore, today was that Wednesday.

I got to work to find my supervisor off sick, so I knew the day was off to a great start. I cleared the messages off of her voicemail, and found a lovely message informing us that we were 4 meal delivery volunteers short for tonight. Yay. That is a panic scenario at the best of times, and today was definitely not the best of times. We are extrememly short of volunteers right now, as we are every summer. Our "spare list" of meals volunteers has a full half of the names crossed off. And hardly anyone ever wants to go out with no advance notice.

Now normally if something like this happens, my supervisor and I will just fill in. However, with her off sick today that option was moot. I have no car, so I can't go out on my own. So that meant that I absolutely had to fill all four empty spots with people from my teensy spare list.

I did it, barely, but only by getting one volunteer to go out by herself, begging my brother to fill in for a second time this week, and by recruiting my mother who thankfully had the day off today.

So there was that to make today suck. And then there was an office volunteer not really doing her job today, leaving me to pick up the slack, plus double the phone calls because I had my supervisor's calls too. And the network was so bloody slow today that I could barely use my computer. I'd type a sentence and then wait ten seconds or so before it would show up on the screen. And if I typed too much without waiting for it to show up, out would come the error messages. Good times, good times.

On top of all that, there were ants crawling on my keyboard today. I have a thing about ants. They give me the wigs. I've seen too many B movies about ants. And about 5 years ago, right in the midst of my giant ant B-movie phase, there was an ant infestation in the house I was living in at the time. They had a nest in the door frame my backdoor. Believe me, if shortly after watching Them!, you came down to breakfast to see hundreds of ants crawling out of the door into your living room you'd have a thing about ants too.

So, yeah. To summarize, no supervisor, double the work, irresponsible uncaring volunteers, panicking, begging, computer troubles, and oh yes, ants on my fucking keyboard.

And just to add insult to injury, I did not win the lottery tonight. Not even 10 damn dollars. Sigh.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: the voices in my head

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present