I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-09-17 - 5:54 p.m.�
Well you had to know I'd come back to ranting about my job eventually...

You should just go and read yesterday's entry instead of this one. I was much cuter yesterday.

A coworker of mine is going on vacation for the next 2 and a half weeks and her job just got dumped on myself and another clerk.

We are not pleased.

Actually, that is such an understatement that it is actually a lie. We are angry, bitter, and pissed the fuck off about the whole situation.

The decision to stick us with this work was made by people in other offices who have not even ever met us, much less have an accurate idea of what our normal workload entails. It was then passed on to my manager who had the unpleasant task of informing us of the situation. However she told us the same thing that she was told- it's just taking phone calls and doing some scheduling for a week, shouldn't be a big deal.

"Shouldn't be a big deal" would be more or less correct, if the rest of the above statement was accurate.

We got some meagre training today, and during that lame ass training time we learned that it is way more work than we had originally been led to believe. For one thing, we have to do the whole job-- taking incoming calls (usually around 20 calls a day-- add that to the 30 or 40 or so calls that I normally get and I'll be on the phone all damn day), doing all the scheduling, doing all the administrative data entry work associated with the job.

And! 2 and a half weeks is a hell of a lot longer than the week that we originally agreed to. Plus that 2nd week is during month end, when we are usually all too busy to do our own normal job, and end up putting in some overtime.

Oh, and we'll have to do her month end on top of our own month end too. Fucking peachy!

This is so typical of the way they do things. Misinformation, dumping work on people who already have too much to do and have no say in the matter, and of course, no additional pay or even offers of overtime pay. And I know I'll have to work some overtime, especially during the always hellish month end time. I'll be able to claim the overtime I put in as lieu time, but quite frankly I'd rather have money.

We talked to our manager, but there wasn't anything that she could do about it, especially at this point, seeing as all this goes into effect tomorrow. We've arranged for a volunteer to come in for four days, maybe more, and take the calls and hopefully do some of the scheduling, which should help things a little, but it's still going to be a major pain in the ass.

The worst of it is that all this is just expected. No one ever asks.

Sometimes it really doesn't pay to be good at my job. It just means they feel they can give me more to do.

The other dumpee and I were half joking that we should try and make some mistakes as a little demonstration of the ridiculousness of the expectations on us. Petty, yes. But I feel like it is well deserved pettiness.

I just feel like shouting swear words at the top of my lungs. I don't know what it would accomplish, but I think that somehow it would make me feel better.

Or maybe I just need more coffee. I was in a much better mood about all this when I still had a coffee buzz.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present