I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-10-17 - 10:15 p.m.�
Outraged

Okay, generally I am in favour of the US taking action against Afgahnistan. I'm not a big fan of war, but in this case, I don't see much other viable option, so sure, go bombs.

But for the love of all that is good in the world, don't bomb the fucking Red Cross. That frightens and angers me to no end. To me, this is almost as deplorable to me as the terrorist attacks themselves. Why? Because it was a bombing on the innocent.

I don't want to hear the excuses. There are no good excuses for bombing a well-labelled International Red Cross building that was housing food, and blankets for war victims. The Red Cross is a neutral organization that helps everyone in need. It is always, ALWAYS neutral, and therefore could never, NEVER, be a storehouse for Taliban weapons.

It is an international organization. All sides. America, Afgahnistan, wherever. All over the world. Funds are raised all over the world, and they are collected to help vulnerable people, no matter their nationality, race, creed, political stance, etc, etc. In essence, the US bombed the same organization that raised hundreds of millions of dollars for their own victims of terror.

I can imagine the outrage if terrorists (or anyone) bombed an internation Red Cross building that was trying to help New Yorkers. It would be justified outrage. And I am feeling pretty damned justified in my outrage now.

If nobody minds, I think I'm just about ready to go back to feeling like crawling under my covers and staying there for a few months.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present