I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-07 - 8:32pm�
The Return of the Disgrunted Scheduling Clerk

The return of the disgruntled scheduling clerk.

(that would be me)

Ugh.

Today was an awful, awful, stressful day. I don't think I've ever been as stressed out at job as I was today. I felt like I was back in school, trying to meet a deadline at the last minute but constantly having other stuff pop up in my way. I felt homicidal today. I felt like finding a bell tower and a big gun and taking out anyone over the age of 65.

I know that sounds a little harsh, but that's just how stressed out I was today. That was the kind of thought in my head today.

I spent all morning trying to complete the month end report. Not fun. Thankfully I got all the big stuff for it done yesterday. All I had left to do before today's noon deadline was the little piddly stuff-- print out reports, make sure everything balances with each other. No big deal... except that nothing balanced.

At least I had a volunteer in to take care of my normal telephone responsibilities... except that the receptionist who seems to have it in for me (or maybe she just has a "she's just a temp" attitude. or maybe I'm just paranoid) still put about half the calls through to me. This was completely counterproductive because my volunteer had the scheduling book so I just ended up transfering most of the calls back to her. But that didn't matter, every took me out of the important crap I was supposed to be working on.

But I got everything in on time despite it all. And it was a damn good thing too, because my entire afternoon was spent trying to appease clients and volunteers who were either upset, demanding the impossible, or were just plain cranky for no good reason. I had maybe 3 decent phone conversations this afternoon and about 30 bitchy ones. I was starting to crack by the end of the day, and I'm afraid that it was starting to become obvious over the phone.

One of the last calls I got today was from a client who had already called my 3 times today to arrange, complain about, or change rides. She was demanding and rude and told me that I didn't care about her situation. I told her that I was doing the best I could to please her and everyone else, but that I could only do so much. She hung up in a huff.

Anyway, she called me back a little later and told me (again) that she was in desperate need of her rides, and that she couldn't change her schedule anymore, and then she said to me that I sounded "a little stressed today, like my mind wanted to be in another place." Um, really? I wonder why. After some 30 phone calls from people giving me at least as hard a time as she was, I was a little on edge for good reason.

I explain to her that it had been a very rough day, a very busy day, a very stressful day. So she tells me to sit back, take a deep breathe, and she is sending all her positive energy to me over the phone into "a great big fibre optic hug." I just about lost it. It was all I could do not to dissolve into an uncontrolable fit of giggling. But I kept control, and thanked her very much for her kind thoughts.

So I guess it wasn't all bad today. That part was pretty damn funny at least.

But for the most part today sucked the big one. Hence the homicidal thoughts.

I was extremely happy to just come home today and be mellow. I've been listening to a steady stream of Sarah McLachlan today -- my calming comfort music-- and trying not to dwell on the fact that I have to go back to work tomorrow and do it all again.

"I love the time I'm in between

The calm inside me

In the space where I can breathe"-- Sarah McLachlan Elsewhere

Oh yeah, that was nice. I think I need another...

"All of the strength and all of the courage come and lift me from this place" -- Sarah McLachlan Full of Grace

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present