I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-03-12 - 9:41 pm�
At least no one's asked me to wear pieces of flair...

When someone at work asks you to do something, and brings up the phrase "be a team player" when they ask, do alarm bells go off in your head?

Here's how my week at work is going to go: in addition to doing my job (with no help from anyone), I'm going to also do the urgent work of my vacationing supervisor, and cover the breaks and lunch hours of the switchboard receptionist (as the normal backup switchboard receptionist is also on vacation). Also, I was volunteered to help out the other scheduling clerk this week if she needs it because she is newer to the job than I am, and her supervisor is also on vacation this week.

(In case you couldn't tell, there was sort of a lack of planning done in human resources with regards to the vacation scheduling.)

While I don't expect the added responsibility to be much of a problem for me-- it's going to be a slow week as far as my actual job goes-- I am feeling pretty dumped on right now. And I really had to bite my tongue when the phrase "team player" was mentioned to me. I said, "sure, I'm a team player," but what I really wanted to say was, "does being a team player mean that I'm supposed to single-handedly play a team?"

As much as I like my job, I do occasionally feel like I'm in a Dilbert cartoon (or in Office Space). But I think everyone who works in an office probably does at one time or another.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present