I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-09-30 - 4:26 p.m.�
Highlights of my weekend in Toronto and Burlington

I had an excellent weekend. Really. Like every part of it was great... okay, there was slight puking on Friday night that was less than great, but other than that, great weekend.

Thursday night we went to see Sarah Slean play at the Lee's Palace. It was cool to see her playing a bigger venue than the Riv. We arrived just late enough not to get seats, but that ended up being just fine, because we got to stand right up by the stage and for one of the first times ever, I got to see the entire stage for the entire show without having to stand on a chair or something.

And it was a very excellent show. I love her new stuff. I really wish her new album would come out now. I don't want to wait until January, thank you very much.

Friday I attempted to do some shopping, but didn't find anything I wanted. I had a list of rare and import music stuff that my brother wanted me to look for, and I had a list of my own, and I did not find even one cd that either of us wanted. The big music stores were a big bust.

That was okay though. Went back to Sarah and Craig's and watched PeeWee's Big Adventure. I love that movie. It's so very, very silly.

After that, Sarah and I went off to Hugh's Room, a fairly new club in TO, to see The Arrogant Worms. The club was sort of strange, in that it was sort of classy, which is not what we were used to. Everyone in the place looked like they made buttloads more money every year than we do. But whatever. It was just a little strange, but it was a really cool little club. And the show itself was great. The Arrogant Worms are hilarious. And they are best seen live-- though the songs are funny on their own, you just don't get the inter-song banter on the cds. My face hurt from grinning and laughing so hard by the time the show was over.

Then, on Saturday I went to Burlington to see my friend Lisa and her fiancee Steve. I keep forgetting how much I like Steve. He really is a good guy, and very funny. I have to remember that, and how much I like Lisa, when I bitch and moan about what a hassle it is to get down to see them. And yes, it was a hassle, but it was worth it. They took me out for dinner too, which was cool.

And we went out to Ikea. I miss having easy access to Ikea. It's such a nifty store. I bought some wooden picture frames to decorate, and I got a couple of cd holders. We had fun laughing over the names of the products. Everything at Ikea has a name, generally some Swedish sounding thing, and if you try to pronounce enough of them in a long string, you end up sounding like the Swedish Chef. The strangest name we saw was something called a "Kurss" (and no, the "u" didn't have an umlaut on it). We didn't feel that it was a particularly good idea to bring anything into your home that sounded like a curse.

So that, in a nutshell, was my weekend. I wish I had more action packed weekends like that one.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present