I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-01-31 - 7:09 a.m.�
Not going to play the whiner anymore

Something happened at work earlier this week that was sort of an eye opener for me. I've been enjoying work this week. It's been busy, and while still not challenging, it hasn't been boring. And there has been little coworker strife. So basically, the days have been going by painlessly and quickly.

Maybe that's why I was taken aback when a coworker started complaining to me about how crappy things had been going. I let her rant, and made sounds of sympathy. Then she started complaining things about MY job, complaining to me on my behalf about things that she thinks may suck for me. She was trying to get me to join her in the complaining. I'm not completely sure of the motivation there, I was feeling that she was trying to manipulate or use me. I was not impressed, and I refused to be dragged into it. I'll decide when to complain about my own job, thank you very much.

Now, this woman complians a lot to anyone who will listen. And it is quite clear to most of us that the point of the complaining about her situation is to cover up or explain away the crap job she is doing. This woman is behind on nearly everything, and she's a bitch to boot, so she's not too popular. So while I wasn't too surprised that she was coming to me to whine, the attempts to get me to whine and grouse too, were new. But then it hit me: maybe she senses something in me that tells her I am unhappy and want to be bitchy too.

I thought I was doing a good job at hiding my, um, displeasure about my workplace and job, while I was at work. I thought that having this diary as an outlet was enough to satisfy my negative side, and allow me to be full of sunshine. lollipops and rainbows while at work.

I think I was wrong though. I think that my post-holiday sadness and grumpiness spilled into the workplace.

That is quite troubling for me. As much as I would like a new job, I really don't want lose my current job. I mean, I am not looking for any excuse to leave, and I certainly would not want to leave badly. My job happens to be important, the work I do means a lot to a whole lot of people, and I do enjoy a lot of what I do. I enjoy it even more when I'm not obsessing over all the crap I have to deal with.

I'm resolving to focus on that good stuff exclusively, at least while I'm at work. I don't want to be seen as the complainer, or the bitch, or even as the bitch sympathizer.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: My cat scratching at my door

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present