I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-06-06 - 8:05 p.m.�
Musings on Harry Potter 3 and other ramblings

It's Monday, and I'm hot and sticky and tired and wishing it was the weekend again.

I had a lovely weekend. My birthday was especially excellent. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a birthday that much. I was giddy all day even though I had to work. I went out for breakfast, lunch and dinner, went swimming, ate junk food and drank.

On Friday Julie, my mom and I went to Hamilton where we did a lot of eating, some shopping, and saw the new Harry Potter movie.

I gotta say, I was not nearly as enamored with it as most people seem to be. On the plus side, they did fix up one of the major problems with the movie franchise thus far-- the flow of the plot. It actually moved along at a good clip, and was definitely telling a story as opposed to being a series of events like the other two movies. And it was darker than the other two, although still not nearly as dark as it could have been. Lots of missed opportunities, I thought.

The major thing that bugged me is that while the movie changed several key plot elements from the book, it also still expected you to know the book pretty damn well, as it left some things unexplained.

And I thought Michael Gambon did a decent job as the new Dumbledore, but I was weirded out by some of the truly cheesy things that he said it the movie, that I really don't remember reading in the book.

And the Dementors didn't look right.

And there wasn't enough McGonagall.

And where the hell was Oliver Wood? Or Madame Pomfrey? Or Nearly Headless Nick?

But despite my complaining, I did have a good time. It was fun while I was seeing it (even though there were quite a few moments when Julie and I looked at each other with disbelief).

I'll stop now. I could go on, but I think I would start to bore even myself!

Ugh. I ate too much at dinner tonight. I should exercise. Or I should walk to the convenience store and buy a lime crush slushie.

I wonder which will win out!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Etta James

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present