I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-07-16 - 8:28 p.m.�
I'm getting old.

I just wrote out a whole paragraph about having some stomach unpleasantness, and how that has impacted my work over the past two days.

Then I reread the paragraph and deleted it because it sounded to much like the kind of too-much-information story I would hear from one of my clients. And seeing as I am not 80 years old, it doesn't seem like an appropriate thing for me to write about.

My favourite coworker (now sadly my favourite former coworker) used to joke that once people pass a certain age, and become elderly, they start to judge the state of thier whole existence by the state of thier bowels. If everything is working smoothly, so goes the rest of thier being. Judging from the nature of the meal delivery complaints I get, he's not far off with that theory.

And I think I've just crossed that "too much information" line yet again. Ah well.

Work was strangely quiet today. I had a new volunteer in, and I was supposed to train her on how to take transportation bookings, so that she can help out when we're short handed, but in the two hours that she sat at my desk, we didn't even get one call. That pretty much never happens.

It was sort of embarassing. "Hey, won't you come in and give us your precious time because we are so busy we can barely think... no really, we're usually terribly busy!" Thankfully the girl knew how to type, so I was able to give her things to do so she wouldn't be completely bored out of her skull.

She seemed like a nice girl, and very competent, which is always a plus among office volunteers. She's a high school student, trying to rack up some community service hours, and she just seemed so impossibly young. Then I realized that I am over a decade older than her, which made me feel old. I think starting to appreciate the fact that I don't look my age... which in itself my be another sign that I am getting old.

On a slightly cheerier note, one of my coworkers told me that I always have the coolest clothes ever. That totally made my day

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Various mp3s

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present