I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-12-30 - 9:44 p.m.�
Too much at once

I've been back to work 2 days now, and they've been an emotional couple of days to say the least.

First thing yesterday I listened to my voicemail. Most of the messages were angry hang ups from people who were pissed off that I was not in to talk to them. One man was particularly rude, and called back continually to express his displeasure by swearing me. It was bordering on harrassment, but of course he did not leave his name so I have no recourse. Old funking bastard.

After I finished off with the voicemail I got a call informing me that one of my longtime, regular clients died on Boxing Day. She was a young, single mother and I knew she was very ill, but I was certainly not expecting this. I just spoke with her on Thursday, and she seemed really optimistic about overcoming her latest health setback.

So, yeah. Crying on the phone. Crying again when I called her regular volunteers to tell them. I still have one more volunteer to tell, but he's away this week.

Then of course, my whole office has been dealing with death on a large scale as well. We've been taking donations for the disaster in Asia. The response has been overwhelming. It's great to see so many people wanting to help out. I've never seen anything like it. I'm trying to focus on the fact that we're doing what we can to help those who can still be helped.

But all the help doesn't change the fact that over 100000 people have already died, and the numbers are likely going to double. It's a sobering thought. It puts a lot of things into perspective. For example, my nasty voicemail is not really worth getting upset over, is it? In the grand scheme of things, it's pretty much a non-issue.

Of course, thinking too hard about any of it kind of makes my brain hurt. Which is why I spent the evening eating cake and watching Shaun of the Dead again.

Because I can only use my brain for so long before it threatens to explode.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sarah McLachlan Afterglow Live

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present