I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-07-29 - 10:40 p.m.�
Another installment of "People who call me say the darnedest things!"

One of the main functions of my job is to match clients with volunteers who can drive them to medical appointments. Sometimes I get calls from people asking me to arrange trips for them to non-medical things, and usually I feel sort of bad that I can't help them out. Today I got the mother of all inappropriate (and might I add, stupid) requests, and I did not feel in the least bit sorry that I couldn't help.

A got a call from someone who identified herself as a caseworker for a disabled client. She told me that this client was in need of a volunteer to take him to Toronto tomorrow to see the big Rolling Stones concert.

I told her very calmly that we did not provide such a service, that our criteria was medical appointments.

She asked, "Well what qualifies as a medical appointment?"

Dumbfounded, I told her that a medical appointment would include doctor's appointments, physiotherapy, kidney dialysis, surgery, etc. All the while I'm thinking, "Uh, how about anything except a drive to a concert?"

She then got angry and me and demanded to know how else I expected this disabled man to get to the concert. She practically yelled at me, "He already has his ticket, you know!"

Now call me crazy, but wouldn't it just make sense to figure out your ride before you buy your ticket? Or if you aren't quite that organized, would you not think to make these arrangements sometime before the day before the concert?

Hello?

Sheesh.

In other news, I have a big angry pimple on my chin. I would have thought that at 27 years old, I would be done with pimples by now.

Let that be a lesson to my younger readers. Kids? Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but when they tell you that you'll grow out of your acne in a few years, they're lying. You'll be dealing with it for a long time.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Smiley Lewis

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present