I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2005-02-21 - 11:01 p.m.�
Long weekend report

Long weekends never feel quite long enough, do they?

I shouldn't complain. I had a fabulous weekend. Julie and I headed out to Hamilton on Friday morning. I had my Tally Ho roast beef sandwich, dropped off some new merchandise and had a little visit at Textures, my craft store, shopped at the mall of my childhood, and then we checked into our hotel.

After a quick swim and dinner at my favorite Middle Eastern fast food place, we went to Hamilton Place for the Sarah Slean concert. The venue was fantastic-- it was set up with tables and chairs, plus there was a balcony all around the room. I'd say it held probably 200-300 people-- still a very intimate little show. Julie and I chose to sit in the balcony rather than at the back of the floor. It was not at all crowded up there, and we got a good view of the whole place. Fun for people watching.

The concert itself was fabulous. She's just so good. It was great to hear the songs from the new album. I hadn't heard many of them live before. "Your Wish is My Wish" was especially beautiful-- just her and a grand piano. And she played a couple of songs I really wasn't expecting, like "Blue Parade."

We left the show on a complete high. I always feel so happy after I've been to an especially good concert. Although this particular high may have been partly caused by the fumes we had been breathing in for about half the show. It seems that one of the electrical outlets a few feet down from us had started smoking. Everyone in our section of the balcony could smell it, but nobody moved to get anyone to check it out for fear of missing any of the show.

The rest of the weekend was great too. We ate wonderful food (mmm... Monfort restaurant...), found far too many really cool things to spend money on, and swam in a mostly empty pool, and just generally enjoyed being away.

Getting away is good.

Days off of work are good too. I don't even mind going back tomorrow. This is going to be a really short week for me. I work Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, and then I have another 4 day weekend. I love my saved up vacation days.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present