I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-02-03 - 10:42 p.m.�
Who makes this stuff up?

I have recently cut down on my work time emailing over the past month or so. Most days I do not even send one email that isn't work related. While I do miss the social emails for the short bursts of stress release they gave me, it actually has not been a hard thing to give up.

What has been difficult is finding my inbox filling up with forwarded junk sent by my other coworkers. It's not new, but I guess I didn't really notice it so much when it was broken up with worthwhile and genuinely entertaining emails from my friends.

The office receptionist is the worst offender of forwarded crap. It's all chain mail and cheesy jokes. Most of the time when I see an email from her I just scan it quickly, roll my eyes and delete it. She hit an all time new low this week though, and I'm still annoyed by one particular item she sent me.

It's a chain email, but it's not just any chain email. It's a prayer chain email! Complete with cheesy animated picture files of the heavenly gates and Jesus himself. I am beyond annoyed that she would send it to me. I'm actually offended.

For one thing, it was total waste of system resources and of my time. It took me much longer to load and read this email than it ever does to write an email to my friends. Besides, I am incredibly busy right now. It's month end report time, plus the sucky weather makes me busier with my regular day to day stuff. I don't have time to wade through tacky chain emails, much less forward it to everyone I know. Of course, this is the same woman who routinely tells me "humorous" stories about her pets even after I come right out and tell her that I am really swamped with work. I should know better than to assume that my time means anything to her.

Then we get into the more serious implications of this email. I have never discussed religion with this person. She has no idea what my beliefs are. This means that she either just assumed that I follow Christian beliefs, or that she felt the need to convert me if I don't believe what she does. I am fairly certain that she did not mean any harm in forwarding this email, but that's not really the point.

Religion does not have a place in my workplace. Unless you work in a church, or some other religious organization, religion really does not have a place in any workplace. But one of the founding principles of my particular company is complete cultural, social, and religious neutrality. Sending someone an email encouraging them to pray to Jesus could be grounds for disciplanary action.

I did not tell on her. As pissy as I am about it, I really don't want to get her in trouble for it. I did warn her that she might want to be selective in the people to whom she sends religiously themed email. I don't know if she'll heed my warning or not, seeing as she rolled her eyes when I explained that she may be in danger of offending people who might not share her beliefs.

Sometimes I wonder just what exactly goes through people's heads when they do the things they do. I wonder just what the receptionist was thinking when she forwarded this to me. I wonder what the person was thinking that forwarded this to her. Most of all I wonder why someone would go to the trouble of creating this very, er, special piece of digital art:

The mind boggles.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present