I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-12-06 - 8:05 p.m.�
Office B&E

There was some excitment at my office today.

I got to work to find 2 police cars outside the building, and all my coworkers huddled in the lobby of the building.

Evidently someone broke into the office last night. They didn't get much; there wasn't much to take. Nothing was missing from my cubicle. Not that there was anything of much monetary value there. Still, I was happy to see that my Happy Meal toys, tacky souvenirs, pictures of my cats, and my can of Beefaroni were not taken.

All the safes were broken into and the petty cash was gone, the tv and vcr were gone, and any cabinet that had been locked was broken into. They got maybe $500.00 worth of stuff. Hardly worth the trouble, I would think.

Honestly, who breaks into a local branch office building of a non-profit organization? What did they think they were going to find?

Can we say "deeply stupid criminals"?

We couldn't go into the office until the police got finished with the fingerprinting and photos of the scene. It was after noon before we got in.

I got to go out for breakfast with my supervisor, then we ran some errands, then came to my apartment for a cup of tea. It was kind of nice, actually. I developed a bitch of a cold yesterday, and I had been considering calling in sick today, so it was nice to go and have a day when I only had to do actual work for half the day.

All in all, it wasn't as good as the legendary grapefruit induced evacuation of 2001 (when we were evacuated all day due to mystery fumes which turned out to be caused by a rotting grapefruit), because I did have to go back to the office and deal with the 25 voicemail messages I had accumulated all morning. And it's kind of creepy to think of someone rifling through our stuff.

And also maddening that someone would think it was a cool idea to break into a charitable organization.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Christmas-y Muppet music

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present