I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-08-12 - 6:01 p.m.�
She can see! She can see!

My mother had her first eye surgery yesterday and it went wonderfully. As soon as the doctor took of the eye shield a couple hours after the surgery she could already see about 50 times better than she could before. She's been dazzling my brother and I all day with her ability to see things, and read small print on signs and on the tv.

Yesterday was a very long day for me of waiting around. I took my mom to the hospital and then waited forever until she could leave. And of course, no one could give me any clear answer about how long I'd have to wait. When I first asked, I was told about a half hour. Then it was an hour and 15 minutes. Then it was "Oh, your mom isn't even scheduled for surgery for another hour and a half." Yeah, thanks. If I'd known that in the first place I could have gone home instead of letting my ass get numb in an uncomfortable chair whilst drinking bad coffee for 4 hours.

After it was over, we had to go straight to the surgeon's office. At the end of ever day that he does the procedure, he makes all the patients he's operated on come back to his office so that he can give them instructions and check them out en masse.

The waiting room atmosphere before the meeting was a little surreal. My mother and I were the youngest people in the office, outside the doctor's receptionist. It was like being surrounded by my clients. And they kept making the same joke to one another about being a band of pirates (due to the surgical eye patch), and they all thought it was hysterically funny each and every time they said it.

My mom and I thought it was pretty funny too, but we had to avoid eye contact with each other because our laughter at the situation would have been more of an inappropriate, mocking laughter.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Cartoon music

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present