I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2005-08-20 - 10:47 a.m.�
Festival of Friends '05

I found a site that will host my pictures for my diary. Photobucket.com! Why didn't anyone tell me about it? I'm so behind the times.

So because I can now post pictures, I thought I'd share some pictures from my trip to the Festival of Friends in Hamilton, Ontario last weekend.

I grew up in Hamilton, and I consider it my home. Those who know me, know that I still pine for it. The festival is one of the reasons why. It's such an amazing event. It's a free "folk" music festival held in a really lovely park in the middle of the city. All the acts are Canadian, and they range from up and coming singer/songwriters to established folk and blues artists, to (relatively) well known pop singers.

Any now onto the pictures! My apologies to anyone with dial up.

Here's one of me (left) and Julie:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

And one of me andSarah:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

On Friday night we saw Jeremy Fisher. He put on a pretty good show, with some excellent stage banter. I was a litle disappointed that he was wearing a hat to conceal his gigantic hair. Julie and I really enjoyed his huge hair when we saw him open for Sarah Slean in February.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

On Saturday we mainly stuck to the workshop stages, though we started out at the main stage to see Paul Langille, and then ventured out later to see Jackie Washington and Mose Scarlet. We also stuck around to see a blues guitarist named Mel Brown. I'd never heard of him before, but he was great, as was the rest of his band. The performers seemed to be having a lot of fun, which always makes a show enjoyable for me too.

We spent most of Sunday at the workshop stage again, though we did move to the side stage to catch a performance by Lindy. I had heard of him, but never heard him before Sunday. He was goofy, but entertaining.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

It was a great weekend. I'm always a little sad to leave, despite my complete exhaustion by the end of the weekend. I took this picture on our way out.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Whenever people slam Hamilton and saw it's an ugly city, it takes me a second to understand what they are talking about. When I see Hamilton, my mind doesn't automatically jump to the part of town with the steel mills. I see the Niagara Escarpment. I see the view of, and from, the mountain. I see Gage Park.

This will probably be my last update for a week or so. Tomorrow Julie and I are off to visit Marla!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present