I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-07-08 - 7:48 p.m.�
Seething resentment about my coworkers? Moi?

So, I go into the lunchroom at work today to fill up my water bottle, and I find that someone has left an article on the table.

It was a little article from Ladies Home Journal with handy "dos and don'ts" of summer office attire. Whatever clever person had left it on the table had also thoughtfully highlighted all the pertinant tips.

Among the highlighted "don'ts" were: don't wear tank tops, don't wear shorts, don't wear flip-flops.

This annoyed me to no end. We are not an office that dresses in professional wear. We are business casual at the best of times, like if we have meetings or events with the public. The rest of the time, especially in the summer, everyone dresses casually.

We have no set dress code at my work. There is an understanding that everyone should look tidy, and not dress in revealing or obscene clothing, but even at that, there is nothing set in stone telling us we must dress that way.

Tasteful walking shorts are common around my office in the summer. So are nice sleeveless tops. And I counted 5 people, myself included, wearing flip flop type sandals today. This isn't new; I've witnessed the same summer wear since I started here.

So basically, what that little article means is that one person took it upon herself to judge that the rest of us are not dressing properly. She looked at us and decided that we do not meet her own personal levels of decorum, and that we need to learn what we are doing wrong so that we feel pressured to correct ourselves.

Thanks!

Because whether or not I'm wearing flip flops really makes a difference to how I answer the offer assistance to people over the phone or enter shit into a computer, doesn't it? Or maybe it does. Maybe the computer is highly insulted by the sight of my feet. And I'm sure the people on the other end of the phone can tell by my voice that I am (gasp!) wearing a blouse that has no sleeves!

I'm sure my clients would have a stronger peace of mind if they knew that the girl arranging for them to eat, and get to doctor's appointments was not dressed so inappropriately.

What bugs me the most about it, is that the ever so helpful little bitch decided to leave the article anonymously. Rather than talk to managers about setting some office wear guidelines, or even just talking to people herself, she took the most cowardly route available.

The thing is though, it pretty much has to be one of only 2 or 3 people, because the rest of us routinely dress against the Ladies Home Journal gospel about what is "appropriate." And all of the likely suspects are new to the office, and seem to be shit disturbers.

The most likely candidate is someone who is actually in a management position. Which makes me wonder whether anyone in organization even has any grounds to make an official dress policy. I'm kind of thinking "no."

I am really working hard to fight the urge to show up to work tomorrow in cut off denim shorts, the lowest cut tank top I can find, and my brightest pair of flip flops.

And while I likely will not dare to go that far, until something official comes across my desk telling me I can't, I will continue wearing whatever footwear I please.

Ah, office politics, how I love thee!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: nothing

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present