I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2005-01-24 - 5:33 p.m.�
Do I care?

Sometimes when I think I about my job I worry that I care too much. I worry that I get too close and emotionally involved with the clients and volunteers, that I don't keep a professional distance. I know it's true-- I know that's why I sometimes end up having to go to the bathroom and have a little cry. It's also why sometimes I come home from work totally emotionally spent, with nothing left to give my family and friends.

But then there are other days when I worry that I don't care enough. Like today. Ten minutes before I was supposed to leave I got a voicemail that one of my volunteers had to cancel all his rides for the week because he has pnuemonia. I could not even summon enough concern to call his wife back and ask how he's doing. All I could think was "Fuck, nice timing. Now I'll have to work late to find volunteers to replace him."

And now I feel bad that I don't feel more concerned.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present