I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-05-29 - 8:12 p.m.�
My cats are craftier than I am.

Just as I hit "done!" on that last entry, the fire alarm went off.

False alarm, naturally, which was a relief also I was kind of pissed that I changed out of my pajamas for nothing.

I went and stood out on the lawn, with probably a quarter of the other residents. Many of these people were cradling cats in blankets, coats, or just their arms.

I was not with cats.

I think my cats registered the fact that the fire alarm was ringing before I did. I was still in the "huh, what's that noise?" mode when my skittish Simon cat comes tearing through my room, trips on a pair of my shoes, runs under my bed, and meows. I went down on the floor to try and get him, but the little brat was sitting directly under the middle of the bed, where he knows I will not be able to reach him no matter which end I reach from. He wouldn't budge despite all my sweet talk. He just stared at me.

I took a cursory look for Mittens, but I knew she'd be a lost cause too. After the actual fire at the old apartment, she's damn near impossible to get. I think she feels that she is better off fending for herself in an emergency. And she is terrified of going outdoors. I found her in an equally impossible to reach spot, and decided that this was likely yet another false alarm (we have 7 or 8 or those a year, at least), so there was no point further traumatizing the cats.

Basically what it sums up to, is the cats outsmarted me. They won.

I just don't understand how all those other cat owners managed to have thier babies all snuggled up in their arms, behaving themselves. Even if I were to wrangle mine, the only way I could have got them downstairs is in cat carriers.

Why don't my cats trust me?

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Muppet radio

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present