I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-05-16 - 5:38 p.m.�
Reflections on being almost 28...

In less than 2 weeks I will be 28 years old. That's just 2 years away from 30. What the fuck? How can I be this close to 30? I still feel like I'm 12.

When I was in my early twenties I think I went through this phase of trying to convince myself that I was an adult. I think this is pretty normal. You know, it's the phase right after you've graduated from school (or perhaps are still pursuing some form of higher education) and you have this burning desire to prove to everyone that you are an adult now. Part of it is for basic survival. You need to convince other adults that you are one of them--responsible, mature, etc, etc-- if you want to get a decent job, a lease/mortgage, a loan, a car, whatever. When I hit that phase I threw away my blue nailpolish. I got a sensible haircut and a couple of power suits. I started thinking about things like how I would decorate an apartment.

I've noticed though, since I hit about 25, I've given up on all facades of being a grown up. I've embraced body glitter again. Flip flops, plastic hair clips, a collection of muppet action figures, and now the coveted button maker...

I've decided that's okay. There's no reason why I can't wear things or do things that are fun. I am an adult. And I will continue to be an adult whether I wear glitter and temporary tattoos and Buffy the Vampire Slayer buttons or not.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present