I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-06-28 - 1:25 a.m.�
Initial thoughts on Harry Potter 5

(This entry is all about the new Harry Potter book, but as far as I can tell is spoiler free. If you aren't interested in my geeky Order of the Phoenix thoughts, hit the random entry link over to the side and maybe you'll find something more to your liking.)

Just finished the new Harry Potter book. Still trying to collect my thoughts on it, and decide just what I thought of it. I suppose the fact that I need to think on the subject means that I didn't totally love it.

But I guess the fact that I plowed through the 700+ page book in three evenings of reading means that I obviously found it really engrossing.

There were elements of the book that I found really disappointing. I found the much discussed "major character death" to be very unaffecting. All through the book I kept thinking "Oh damn! It's going to be so-and-so!" and then a few chapters later feeling completely sure, and completely horrified, at the prospect of another character dying. Then when I finally realized who was actually going to die, I was almost relieved. I know a lot of other people were/are/will be quite upset by the loss of the character, but about the only sadness I could summon up was for how the loss would affect Harry. I didn't even shed any tears. I cried at the death in the last book, and that character had only been around for the one book. And it's not like I didn't like the character (although I didn't like said character as much in this book)... sigh.

But there was quite a lot that I did enjoy. The Weasleys were as entertaining as always. And there were two new characters that I really liked. I also enjoyed the subtext about media bias-- I love that Rowling puts that kind social commentary into the books.

So yeah, good read, but overall it was kind of like an all you can eat chinese food buffet. Lots to devour, quite enjoyable at the time, but ultimately unsatisfying. But don't let my cheesy simile deter you from reading it yourself... it's awfully late right now, and I may have a wholly different view of it tomorrow.

I think the biggest upside about having finished the book is that I can now go back to my regular scheduled online reading. There were several sites (including my friend Hong's-- do not click that link unless you don't mind being spoiled!) that I was afraid of visiting all week for fear of spoilers.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sarah Slean

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present