I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-08-31 - 9:45 p.m.�
Weighing the benefits

Today an old lady yelled at me that her phone number was absolutely, no question, 727-****. It didn't matter how many times I explained to her that the volunteer driver had been trying to reach her on that number for days. Or that when I dialed that number I got a fax modem screeching in my ear. Or that I noticed (when she finally decided to call me herself) that the call display showed her number as 737-****. Nope, I was lying, I was crazy, I didn't know what I was talking about. And what's more, the fact that I hadn't been able to call her (on her fradulent number), made me incompetent.

Sometimes I hate my job.

I read an article today that said that working for an non-profit corp. is considered a "cool" job. People regard it as noble, and fulfilling, and therefore jobs such as mine are supposedly sought after. The article made me laugh out loud like a crazy person while I was on the bus today.

I'm guessing that the people who think my job is cool don't really consider the crazy old people yelling aspects of it all.

But of course, sometimes I do feel good about my job. That's why I've put up with the yelling, and the lack of room for advancement, and the constant threat of funding cuts.

Yesterday I had to go out and do meal delivery, because we were suddenly short volunteers again. I stewed all the way to the meals office, complained bitterly to my coworker about how I am becoming very tired of my job. When we got to the office, the other volunteers greeted me warmly. One of them gave me a hug.

When we went out to deliver the meals, my coworker and I picked the same route that we've had to do 3 times in 6 days. When the first man on the route saw me at his door he asked, "How come I've got you again?" I rolled my eyes and answered, "I guess you're just lucky." He laughed and said, "I guess I must be." We talked for a bit longer, he smiled and thanked me for the meal and I was on my way.

I told the story to my coworker and she looked at me in disbelief. Apparently this man is never anything but a grumpy bastard whenever she delivers his meal. Volunteers complain about how rude he is to them. He's never been anything but sweet to me. Apparently he likes me.

Sometimes I love my job.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Serena Ryder

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present