I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2004-07-18 - 7:35 p.m.�
Weekly roundup

This was written on Thursday but I haven't had a chance to post before now. I may post again tonight if I can tear myself away from my Six Feet Under dvds...

So much to say... so little time. I've been usually busy since my last entry. Summer is always busy for me. It's been nice, but tiring.

Where to begin?

I guess I'll start with a follow-up to my last entry about the dress code article fiasco. I found the article still sitting on the lunchroom table on Friday morning when I went to throw out my coffee cup. I calmly picked it up and tossed it into the trash.

No one has come forth and claimed responsibility for it, which isn't exactly surprising. What is surprising is the calm reaction to it. Other than a few snorts of disbelief when the article was first found, I haven't heard anyone even mention it. Everyone has decided to just ignore it. I love that! As much as I wanted to replace the article with an anonymous manifesto giving helpful tips on how not to be a bitch, I am thrilled by the fact that no one has given this person the satisfaction of being visibly upset.

After work on Friday my mother and I went to see Spiderman 2. I really enjoyed it. Sure, there was some cheesiness, but far less than in the first one. It was a fun movie. And the effects were quite good. All in all, it was definitely worth seeing.

On Saturday I was part of a garage sale with Julie and her family. I didn't make a whole lot of money, but I did get rid of a lot of stuff. And it was a beautiful day, so it was nice just to be outside. It's been a while since I've had a garage sale, and I was unprepared for some of the garage sale folks. I expected haggling, but some of it was pretty ridiculous. Like some old man bought a cd/cassette player from my mom for $7.00 (which he haggled down from $10.00) and wanted her to throw in a pile of tapes with it for nothing. Then there was a lady who just kept tapping us and holding up the amount of money she wanted to pay for each item she was holding. And there were several people who poured over the box of 10 cent items for several minutes, picked up items and held on to them while they looked at other things, and then put them back before they left. It's a dime! If you liked it well enough to think it over that hard, why wouldn't you pay a dime for it?

On Sunday Julie, my mom, my brother and I all went to see The Tragically Hip at the Wasaga Beach Bluesfest. There was very little blues at the bluesfest, which didn't really surprise me considering The Hip were headlining, and they aren't blues artists by any definition. In any case it was a pretty good day. The concert was held right on the beach, which meant no shade, but luckily there was a nice breeze coming off the water. I was not all that impressed with the beach as a venue-- everyone was packed in like sardines once it neared time for The Hip, and I found that pretty uncomfortable, considering my distaste for crowds. But The Hip put on a good show, as always, and it was pretty cool to see them so up close and personal.

I had booked Monday as a vacation day, which was fabulous. Even though we were home from the concert by 10:30 on Sunday night, I was totally exhausted, and really did need the day off. I slept late, did some reading, made some pretty fimo things, and just generally relaxed.

Tuesday I was back to work, and it was okay despite the fact that I did not really want to be back at work, and was in a crappy mood because of it. Wednesday and today, again, work. Again, crappy mood because of it, but nothing really to complain about. I went out for dinner with friends both yesterday and today, and that helped get rid of the crappy mood as soon as I left work.

Thanks to everyone who has emailed or left me a note recently. I love getting messages. I literally squeal when I see a new email or guestbook notification in my inbox. Sadly however, I am shamefully bad in replying. If you've been in touch with me lately, I promise I will get back to you soon!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Heather's Big Mix CD

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present