I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2005-01-19 - 5:56 p.m.�
Office politics ranting (hey, it's been a while...)

It's been a while since I've had a good, hearty rant about work so excuse me if my complaining skills are a little rusty.

Yesterday one of the supervisors for another volunteer department came over to my desk and announced that she and I were to be switching desks. She said that the idea is that all the schedulers should be together and all the supervisors together. This way, all the schedulers could work together and help each other out.

This is bullshit for oh so many reasons. First off, she basically wants to get away from her scheduler because she feels that she gets sucked into doing scheduling at the expense of her own job. So I should be disrupted because she doesn't know how to tell her subordinate to do her own fucking job?

And most importantly, it was a supremely raw deal for me, because in reality, the idea of schedulers working together and helping each other out means that I would be helping all of them. Because quite frankly, I don't need any help, and they all do.

And I already help them out! I've been entering all of the new clients for one of the schedulers since before Christmas. And earlier this month I even worked overtime so that I could help the other two schedulers meet their month end deadlines.

Plus there is the fact that I would not be able to take half of my resources over to her workspace, like my filing cabinets, and my very necessary meal delivery map. And my supervisor and I share a lot of materials very closely... we'd have to decide who gets what, and be back and forth to each other's desks all the time.

And on a selfish note, I totally don't want to sit with the other schedulers because I'd have absolutely no privacy. And half of them annoy the crap out of me.

As soon as my supervisor got in this morning, I told her about the proposed move. Her reaction, "No way in hell."

So she fought this other supervisor, and then she fought the boss, so that I could stay put. She told them that we are a team, and that if I was moved it would seriously compromise her ability to do her job. She even ranted about how the other people might be jealous of how well we work together, and that they might have ulterior motives for wanting to split us up.

So I get to stay put. And I feel loved and appreciated by my supervisor. The rest of the department is none to thrilled with us, but I totally don't care.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present