I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-01-01 - 12:31am�
New Year's Resolutions

The new millenium is off to a rockin' good start for me! Mom's already fallen asleep on the couch, and the brother has become hypnotized by his new video game system once again. I'm starting to think that I should have gone downtown to witness my city's lame New Year's party at city hall.

No, that wouldn't be any fun either. I'd be feeling just as dissatisfied with my New Year's activities if I were standing out in the freezing cold listening to Honeymoon Suite and Platinum Blonde. The fact that all my city could line up for New Year's entertainment is a couple of now balding 80s Hair Metal bands just makes me sad.

So that's why I'm sitting here in diaryland instead. Hey, it's not so bad. I just found an excellent diary that everyone should go and read (after you've read my diary, of course! nobody is allowed to leave just yet). Anyway, go check out Kerykes sometime. She's all feminist-y and cool. Yay for feminism!

I've been trying to think of some realistic new year's resolutions for myself this year. I've already thought of one resolution, to flirt more often, which I mentioned here a few days ago. That one seems like something I can handle.

The problem with most new year's resolutions is that they tend to set up unrealistic goals and standards. From the time I was about 11, until I was about 18, I made a silent resolution to watch what I ate, exercise more, and loose weight in the new year. The resolution was always silent because I didn't want anyone to know if I failed. By the time I was 14 I knew I was not going to be able to keep the resolution. I knew I was going to fail but I made the resolution anyway. And every year when the inevitable moment came when I knew that I had failed, I felt horrible.

Why do we do this to ourselves? Most of the time when we make these resolutions we may as well just cut the crap and resolve to feel bad about ourselves in the new year.

Now I try to make resolutions that are attainable, reasonable, and won't make me feel bad about myself if I can't keep.

So this year I resolve to try to keep up with my email, to allow myself more time for creative writing, and to read more.

Okay, that'll do for now.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present